Crusoe Raised $3.9 Billion at a $30.9 Billion Valuation, and the Most Solid Number in the Announcement Is Neither of Those

AI infrastructure company Crusoe announced on September 17 the initial closing of a $3.9 billion Series F at a $30.9 billion post-money valuation. The oversubscribed round was co-led by Atreides Management, Mubadala Capital and Valor Equity Partners, with more than thirty participating firms including Founders Fund, GIC, NVIDIA, the Qatar Investment Authority, Radical Ventures and TPG. For comparison, its October 2025 round was $1.38 billion at a $10 billion valuation — roughly a threefold increase in about eleven months. The operating figures the company discloses: more than $140 billion in total contracted value across the platform; more than 6 gigawatts of gross contracted capacity, of which 1 gigawatt is delivered and operational; Crusoe Cloud bookings up more than 20-fold year over year in 2026; more than $100 million in contracted annual recurring revenue from the managed inference product launched in late 2025; and more than 1,800 employees across five countries. The capital goes toward scaling existing programs and building its own AI factories, from large vertically integrated campuses to modular, rapidly deployable Crusoe Spark units. CEO Chase Lochmiller describes the approach as controlling the infrastructure from electrons to tokens. The company also added three board members: Cloudflare CFO Thomas Seifert, former Digital Realty CEO Bill Stein, and Redwood Materials founder JB Straubel. OpenAI trained Astra at its Abilene, Texas campus, and current customers include Cognition, Figure and Perplexity.

Reading These Announcements Starts With Separating Three Numbers

Contracted, delivered, recognized. AI infrastructure announcements routinely set these side by side, and they are not the same thing at all. In Crusoe's: **contracted** is $140 billion in total contracted value and more than 6 gigawatts of gross contracted capacity; **delivered** is 1 gigawatt, running; **recognized revenue** is not disclosed. The ratio between contracted and delivered is roughly 6 to 1, which means the overwhelming majority of the value is still in the future, and getting it requires power interconnection, sites, equipment deliveries and time — each of which can slip. The $140 billion needs more care still. It is the total value of contracts running over several years, not annual revenue, and setting it next to a $30.9 billion equity valuation produces a false impression of cheapness. Those two numbers are not on the same axis. One more piece of wording is worth noticing: the announcement describes the **initial closing** of an anticipated $3.9 billion round. How much actually funded at that initial closing is not disclosed, and neither are price per share, liquidation preferences, or whether there is a debt component. This is not an insinuation that something is wrong — it is a reminder not to read $3.9 billion as cash already in hand.

The Most Solid Number Is the $100 Million

Here is the counterintuitive part: the most trustworthy figure in this announcement is the smallest one. The managed inference product has passed $100 million in contracted annual recurring revenue, and it only launched in late 2025. That is **product revenue** — customers paying for usage — built from near zero in under a year. It does not wait on a power interconnection, and it does not depend on whether a given campus energizes on schedule. Set against each other, $140 billion is a promise and $100 million is a business that is running. A practical way to judge this company is to watch the next announcement: does 1 gigawatt become 2, and does $100 million become $300 million? Those two growth rates mean far more than total contracted value, because neither can be inflated by signing one more long-term agreement.

The Board Slate Says More About Intent Than Any Statement Does

The three new directors come from Cloudflare (its CFO), Digital Realty (its former CEO) and Redwood Materials (its founder). A data center veteran plus energy recovery maps onto heavy-asset expansion and the power supply that is its lifeline, and a sitting public-company CFO joining a board usually means the finance function is being built to public-company standards. Reporting says the company has had early discussions with Goldman Sachs and Morgan Stanley about an IPO — that item is reported rather than confirmed by the company, but the board's composition is consistent with it. On September 9 this site covered Nscale's pre-IPO raise, where the headline number was also contracted backlog, rising from about $51 billion to about $103 billion in a month; on September 17 we covered Anthropic signing roughly $517 billion in compute contracts over eleven months. Put the three together and the shared narrative of this round of AI infrastructure financing is clear: **the headline figure is almost always total contracted value, not revenue.** Whether that narrative holds depends on power and construction schedules, not on how fast contracts get signed. Finally, the boundaries. Crusoe earns at three layers — data centers, GPUs and tokens — a strategy that per reporting has at times unsettled its board, which has suggested narrowing the focus. Customer concentration is worth watching too: OpenAI trained Astra at the Abilene campus, which is both the strongest endorsement available and a sign that a single large customer carries meaningful weight.

via: Crusoe's announcement, The Next Web, The AI Insider, MLQ